Reflect and Progress

  • You have used mono, lino and resist printing techniques, which one do you think is the most successful and why? Which have you enjoyed the most and why?

I think mono printing was a successful printing technique but not the most successful for me because I had full control over the whole process. It was up to me how much ink was on the plate, I had control on how much pressure was applied onto the page, and what kind of marks appeared. However, I found it difficult to stop resting my hand on the page. As well as this, it is a very messy process which I struggled with as the ink seemed to get everywhere.

Lino printing was a more successful printing technique than mono printing but I also didn’t think it was the most successful. I thought it was more successful than mono printing because I was able to precisely copy an image onto the lino, then cut it from there. I was able to make various marks, just like mono printing, however I was more limited with the tools I used unlike mono printing where I could use different tools. But the main difference from mono printing is lino printing isn’s as messy as mono printing. I found applying the ink to the lino, printing out the piece, and then washing the lino much easier than the mono printing. My prints were also clearer, more controlled and neater. This is because the ink is applied with the same pressure so there were much bolder, which I prefer the look of.

However, resistant prints are most definitely the most successful prints. I found this because they are so precise, clean and easy to do. By using the rolling press, I was able to apply even pressure over the whole print, without having to touch the piece itself. Along with this, I was using actual organic objects to create the prints, by applying ink to them and putting them through the press. This then meant the prints had a precise and realistic shape. I found this process much more successful than mono and lino printing because the prints came straight out of the press much more refined and realistic.

  • You have manipulated your prints with both hand rendered techniques and digital techniques – which do you think has been most successful and why?

I think hand rendered techniques were the most successful because I was able to be much more precise with the marks and alterations I was making. Along with this, the pieces ended up looking better when they were hand rendered. I don’t think the digital prints turned out as well because I don’t have a large range of knowledge or skills on digital softwares such as photoshop when it comes to distorting the look of images.

  • For your final submission you have been asked to present 3-4 finished prints. When presenting these prints, what will you need to think about to make sure the quality is there?

I will think about how each print links to the other, as I’d like them all to fit a easily recognisable theme. I will also think about the layout and sizes of the prints. This is because I would prefer to have my work looking organised and formal as they are a presentation. I will present my pieces as a tryptic or a quad, as this makes the organisation of my work look pleasing to the viewer. As a tryptic, I will have to think about what order I place the 3 prints. This is because the viewers eye will be drawn to the centre print, so my best print should be placed there. If I do it as a quad, I will have to think about placing the prints the same distance apart so that they look tidy.

Along with this, I will want to put a border around each image, which should be between 2mm to 8mm in size. This is because, the border will help to make the piece look neat, however if they are small they wont take away any attention from the actual prints. I also need to think about what surface I am going to place the prints onto and whether I am going to leave the piece like that or put them into a frame.

Feedback